New Academic Restructuring Takes Effect July 1

Posted: June 28, 2006 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

This year at Mason, July 1 is more than the start of a new fiscal year. It’s the start of a new academic era.

As of July 1, the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Computational Sciences no longer exist. Instead, two new colleges will begin operations: the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences (LAHS) and the College of Science (COS).

George Mason’s Board of Visitors approved the reorganization more than a year ago after lengthy study and consideration by the faculties of the colleges.

LAHS contains the following departments, headed by Dean Jack Censer:

  • Communication, Gary Kreps, chair

  • Economics, Donald Boudreaux, chair

  • English, Deborah Kaplan, chair

  • History and Art History, Marion Deshmukh, chair

  • Modern and Classical Languages, Jeff Chamberlain, chair

  • Philosophy, Ted Kinnaman, chair

  • Psychology, Deborah Boehm-Davis, chair

  • Public and International Affairs, Bob Dudley, chair

  • Religious Studies, Young-chan Ro, chair

  • Sociology and Anthropology, Steven Vallas, chair

In addition, New Century College falls under LAHS. Nance Lucas is associate dean.

The Department of Social Work, formerly in the College of Arts and Sciences, is now in the College of Health and Human Services. The chair is Sunny Harris Rome.

COS contains the following departments, headed by Co-deans Vikas Chandhoke and Menas Kafatos:

  • Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Saleet Jafri, chair

  • Chemistry and Biochemistry, Gregory Foster, chair

  • Climate Dynamics, Jagadish Shukla, chair

  • Computational and Data Sciences, Dimitrios Papaconstantopoulos, chair

  • Earth Systems and Geoinformation Sciences, David Wong, chair

  • Environmental Science and Policy, Chris Jones, chair

  • Geography, Allan Falconer, chair

  • Mathematical Sciences, Klaus Fischer, chair

  • Molecular and Microbiology, Emanuel Petricoin, chair

  • Physics and Astrononomy, Maria Dworzecka, chair

Write to at