George Mason Faculty Honored for Outstanding Teaching

Posted: April 24, 2006 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The recipients of the 2006 George Mason University teaching awards have been announced and were honored at a reception last week.

The winners of the 2006 Teaching Excellence Award are:

  • Charlene Douglas, College of Nursing and Health Science

  • Michelle Marks, School of Management

  • Jane McDonald, College of Education and Human Development

  • Victoria Rader, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

  • Andrew Wingfield, New Century College

The winner of the 2006 David J. King Teaching Award is Ann Palkovich, Department of Sociology and Anthropology and the Krasnow Institute for Advanced Study.

The George Mason University Teaching Excellence Award was initiated in 1996 to highlight the importance of teaching in George Mason’s mission and recognize those faculty members who are leaders within the educational community, on campus and beyond. The awards are supported by the Office of the Provost.

The David J. King Teaching Award, an endowed award, was inaugurated in 2002. It is given annually to a faculty member who is an outstanding teacher and has made significant contributions to the overall educational excellence of the university.

Winners for both awards are selected through a competitive process in which applicants document their educational excellence through a teaching portfolio and other materials. Finalists in the process, and the winners, are chosen by a committee composed of former award winners and the director of the Center for Teaching Excellence.

Teaching Award winners receive a monetary award and travel support to present their work at a national or regional conference.

Write to at