Staff Award Winners Announced

Posted: February 23, 2006 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

University employees will be honored with Outstanding Achievement Awards, Exceptional Support Awards, the Team Excellence Award, the Quill Award and the Margaret C. Howell Award at the Feb. 28 awards program presented by Human Resources and Payroll. In addition, a Presidential Citation will be awarded, and the Staff Senate will present the Outstanding Supervisor Award.

The event will begin at 1:30 p.m. in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall.

Most of the awards are presented twice yearly. They are based on nominations submitted for review by the Compensation Committee.

Outstanding Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented for accomplishments that improve processes, save time or money or improve customer service and thus result in significant benefits. Award recipients are Rizna Ahmed; Human Resources and Payroll; Santhosh Balla, Institutional Assessment; Steve Broaddus, Information Technology Unit (ITU)/Desktop Support Services; Janet Hardiman, ITU; Gregory Justice, Center for Field Studies; Teresa Kan, Mercer Library; Sherrie Rook, History and Art History; Cynthia Sempsrott, Purchasing and Accounts Payable; Kwang Yim, Database Application Services; and Jane Pearson, University Development and Mason Foundation.

Exceptional Support Award

Exceptional Support Awards recognize Mason’s “worker bees,” those upon whom departments rely for the smooth running of daily operations. These employees demonstrate exceptional customer service, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment and energy. Recipients are Lisa-Marie Aird, Instructional Resource Center; Sharon Bloomquist, History and Art History; Amanda Harrison, Operations, Arlington Campus; Vannary Khov, College of Nursing and Health Science; Carol Trayers, Applied Information Technology; Jonathan Witt, Fenwick Library.

Team Excellence Award

This award is given annually, and selection is based upon outstanding performance and results due to group achievement. This year’s winner is Hemlock Overlook Center for Outdoor Education.

Quill Award

This award, open to all administrative and professional faculty, is granted for working on projects or initiatives outside the realm of normal work duties that result in the advancement of the university’s mission. The recipient will have shared his or her expertise on projects that have contributed to the stature of the department and/or the entire university. The award also recognizes that the recipient displayed leadership while involved in this work. The recipient is William Hardiman, Purchasing and Accounts Payable.

Margaret C. Howell Award

This award recognizes individuals whose efforts carry on the work and demonstrate the character of the late Margaret C. Howell, who retired from George Mason University in 2002 after 20 years of outstanding, committed service. Her work focused on the development of respect, diversity and individual dignity throughout the university and the community. The recipient is Kathy Trump, University Life.

Presidential Citation

The Presidential Citation is a noncompetitive award intended to recognize individuals who perform an exceptional deed that may or may not be related to their normal duties. The recipient of the award must have rendered a service or performed a deed at either personal or potential sacrifice that was motivated by good citizenship or a sense of public responsibility. Clarissa Abban, a student who is a resident advisor, will receive this award.

Outstanding Supervisor Award

Susan Swett, director of graduate admissions, was selected by the Staff Senate for this honor.

Write to at