CAS Faculty and Staff Members Bequeath $1 Million

Posted: January 25, 2006 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Tere Linehan

Daniele Struppa, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), created the CAS Department Legacy Society to ensure the future strength of each department in the college and to attract top-ranked students and faculty.

Bruce Manchester, now retired from the Department of Communication, was the first faculty member invited by Struppa to make a planned gift to the Legacy Society. His gift will establish a scholarship available for students on the Mason Forensics Team, which he coached for 19 years and brought to first-place ranking among more than 800 universities and colleges nationally.

“The highlight of my 29 years at George Mason has been the thrill of working with and being challenged by so many incredible undergraduates. I welcome the opportunity to give back by helping to ensure that, in the future, the university can continue to attract top students. I encourage other faculty members to likewise commit to securing George Mason’s solid future by joining the CAS Department Legacy Society,” Manchester said.

Members of the CAS Department Legacy Society agree to leave a minimum bequest of $25,000 to their department or a special interest of theirs at George Mason. Each donor designates how the gift will be used; possible directives include department scholarships, awards, faculty research or equipment. A CAS Department Legacy Society plaque listing the donors and their years of service is displayed in the hallway outside of each CAS department or program area identified by the members.

“When you work at a university, you see how important the work we do is to students, research and the community,” Struppa said. “I hope many faculty and staff members will join Dr. Manchester and other CAS colleagues in making a commitment to the future of George Mason University by leaving a gift of $25,000 or more in their will.”

To date, 40 current and former faculty and staff members in the college have become members of the CAS Department Legacy Society and the University Legacy Society. Their collective bequest intention now exceeds $1 million.

  • Anonymous (2)

  • Shaul Bakhash

  • Jack Censer

  • Jane Censer

  • Jeff Chamberlain

  • Vikas Chandhoke

  • Warren Decker

  • Marion F. Deshmukh

  • Michael Dickerson

  • Donald Gallehr

  • Robert Hawkes Jr.

  • Dee Ann Holisky

  • Mack P. Holt

  • Margaret H. Holt, MA ’97

  • Rosemary Jann

  • R. Christian Jones

  • Debra Kaplan

  • C. Scott Keeter

  • Lawrence W. and Cornelia Levine

  • Tere Linehan

  • Bruce B. Manchester

  • William Miller, MFA ’87

  • Marilyn Mobley

  • George Mushrush

  • Roy Rosenzweig

  • Charles Rowley

  • Lisa Sparks

  • Wayne Stalick

  • Peter N. Stearns

  • Daniele C. Struppa

  • Anita M.G. Taylor

  • Christopher Thaiss

  • Susan Tomasovic, MAIS ’90

  • Zita E. Tyer

  • Karen Vaughn

  • Rex A. Wade

  • Richard E. Wagner

  • Walter Williams

Write to at