Staff Award Winners Announced

Posted: August 3, 2005 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Laura Jeffrey

Fourteen university employees will be honored with Outstanding Achievement Awards, Exceptional Support Awards, and Martha J. Reiner Quality Customer Service Awards this month. They will be presented at 2 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 8, in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall.

Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented for accomplishments that improve processes, save time or money, or improve customer service and thus result in significant benefits. Award recipients are Mary Buckley, Mercer Library circulation supervisor; David Farris, chemical hygiene officer, Office of Laboratory Safety; Creston Jamison, director of Development Services; Jayendra Luintel, videoconferencing specialist, Classroom Technologies; Nicki Trosclair Meacham, Mercer Library circulation supervisor and stacks manager, evening; and Gregory Pirog, third party account representative, Student Accounts.

Exceptional Support Awards recognize Mason’s “worker bees,” those upon whom departments rely for the smooth running of daily operations. These employees demonstrate exceptional customer service, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment, and energy. Recipients are Lisa Carr, e-mail account administrator, Information Technology Unit, Technology Systems Division; Judi Chamberlain, STAR, web.STAR lab supervisor, DoIT, Learning Support Services; Katie Tuben, office support specialist, Development Services; Debra Hogan, university library assistant; University Libraries; Brenda Mueller, Education Leadership Program office manager, College of Education and Human Development; and LeAnn Pittman, classroom support manager, DoIT, Classroom Technologies.

The Martha J. Reiner Quality Customer Service Awards are presented to individuals who have contributed to the enhancement of quality customer service at Mason. Criteria are exceptional initiative in “going the extra mile” to provide service to internal and external customers with timely and appropriate follow-up; responsiveness to the needs of students, patrons, or customers; and demonstrated improvement of customer service and satisfaction. Recipients are Marissa Cachero, reference librarian, Arlington Campus Library; and Janice Gouch, executive assistant, Office of the Senior Vice President.

Dorothy Lockaby, coordinator, reference and instruction, Johnson Center Library, is the recipient of the summer 2005 Outstanding Supervisor Award, which is sponsored by the Staff Senate. Lockaby also will be recognized during the awards ceremony.

The awards, which are presented twice yearly, are based on nominations submitted for review by the Compensation Committee.

Write to at