Teaching Award Winners Announced

Posted: April 12, 2005 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

On Thursday, April 14, George Mason will honor its 2005 Teaching Award winners for their individual and collective contributions to George Mason. The university community is invited to attend and celebrate their achievements in George’s Restaurant in the Johnson Center from 4 to 6 p.m.

The George Mason University Teaching Excellence Award is given each year to five faculty members who have provided compelling evidence of their teaching success. The awards are given through a competitive process in which participants document their educational excellence through a teaching portfolio and other materials. Winners, who receive money and travel support to present their work at a national or regional meeting, are chosen by a committee composed of former award winners and the director of the Center for Teaching Excellence.

The George Mason University Teaching Award Winners for 2005 are:

  • Susan Durham, College of Nursing and Health Science

  • Jon Gould, Administration of Justice

  • Lisa Gring-Pemble, New Century College

  • Melissa Martin, School of Management

  • Kristin Flieger Samuelian, English

The David J. King Teaching Award, an endowed award, was inaugurated in 2002. It is given annually to a faculty member who is an outstanding teacher and has made significant contributions to the overall educational excellence of the university. This year’s winner is Christopher Thaiss, English.

In 2005, there will be a new award for a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the general education program. T. Mills Kelly, History and Art History, is the inaugural winner of the General Education Award.

Durham has been teaching for 11 years in the College of Nursing and Health Science. She coordinates the Writing Intensive Course and also coordinates and teaches the senior nursing preceptorship course. Durham currently serves on the Faculty Senate Writing Across the Curriculum Committee and the Writing Assessment Group, the provost’s committee on university writing assessment.

Gould is assistant professor of public and international affairs, visiting assistant professor of law, and assistant director of the Administration of Justice Program. He has more than 20 publications on issues of justice, public policy, and law, and his book, Speak No Evil: The Triumph of Hate Speech Regulation, will be released this spring by the University of Chicago Press. Gould also presently serves as chair of the Innocence Commission for Virginia.

Gring-Pemble is a rhetorical critic and theorist interested in the role of language in social change. Based on her work with New Century College learning communities, Gring-Pemble has developed a strong interest in the scholarship of teaching and learning with a special focus on experiential learning. In addition, her research, which focuses on public policy (welfare reform), political communication, and social movements from a rhetorical-critical perspective, has appeared in The Quarterly Journal of Speech, Political Communication, and Communication Quarterly.

Martin is an assistant professor of marketing in the School of Management. She spent 20 years in information technology working in a variety of capacities, including software consulting, project management, product marketing, technical sales support, and training. She ran her own software consulting business for five years.

Flieger Samuelian is a term assistant professor in the Department of English. She served as associate director of Women’s Studies from 1997 to 1999 and as assistant dean for undergraduate student experience in the College of Arts and Sciences, where her primary charge was recruitment and retention of undergraduate students, from 2000 to 2002. She has published articles on Charles Dickens, Elizabeth Gaskell, and Jane Austen, and she recently published a scholarly edition of Austen’s Emma aimed at an undergraduate audience.

Thaiss has a long and distinguished career at George Mason. He is a former chair of the English Department and a former director of the English Composition Program. He helped found the University Writing Center in 1980 and was the director of the Writing Across the Curriculum Program. Thaiss was a member of the team that reorganized the Doctorate in Community College Education program in 2001 and continues to serve as a faculty mentor for students in the program. He is the author of six books about writing, the editor or coeditor of three more, and the lead consultant on a number of videos.

Kelly is the associate director of the Center for History and New Media and assistant professor of History and Art History. During the 1999-2000 academic year, he was a Pew National Fellow with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. He is currently the codirector of two National Endowment for the Humanities-funded Exemplary Education Projects: World History Matters and Women and World History. In January 2005, he received the commonwealth’s highest award for faculty excellence, the Outstanding Faculty Award, from the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

Write to at