Service Awards to Be Presented Today

Posted: April 7, 2005 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Megan McDonnell

This year’s annual University Day Service Awards breakfast takes place this morning in the Johnson Center, Dewberry Hall. President Alan Merten will present the awards for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35 years of service. This year, 381 employees are eligible for service awards. The breakfast begins at 8:30 a.m. and the presentation of the awards is at 9:15 a.m. Employees of the Month will also be recognized.

Seven people are celebrating 35 years of service to the university and/or the Commonwealth of Virginia. They are Marion Deshmukh, History and Art History; Jane Flinn, Psychology; Robert Hawkes, History and Art History; Catherine Hoover, Office of Continuing Professional Education; William Kiley, Mathematical Sciences; John O’Connor, New Century College; and Betty Tillman, Economics.

There are 12 people celebrating 30 years of service. They are Larry Beatty, Admissions; Thomasina Borkman, Sociology and Anthropology; Stephen Burton, Music; Richard Coffinberger, School of Management; Donald Gantz, Applied and Engineering Statistics; David Kuebrich, English; Roger Lathbury, English; Robert Nadeau, English; John Radner, English; Larry Rockwood, Environmental Science and Policy; Amelia Rutledge, English; and Andrew Sage, Systems Engineering and Operations Research.

University Day marks the day in 1972 when Gov. Linwood Holton granted George Mason College university status by signing a General Assembly bill into law.

Write to at