Recognition Awards to Be Presented to Mason Staff

Posted: March 22, 2005 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Twenty-nine university employees and two departments will be honored Monday, March 28, with recognition awards: the Margaret C. Howell Award, the Team Excellence Award, the Exceptional Support Award, and the Outstanding Achievement Award. The Staff Senate will also present its Outstanding Supervisor Award to Camille Hazeur, director of Equity and Diversity Services. The awards will be presented at 1 p.m. in the Johnson Center’s Dewberry Hall.

The Margaret C. Howell Award recognizes those whose efforts continue the work of the late Howell, who retired from George Mason in 2002 after working here 20 years. Howell worked diligently to develop respect, diversity, and support for individual dignity throughout the university and the community. The award will go to Hortensia Cadenas, Early Identification Program, and Jevita de Freitas, Student Financial Aid.

The Team Excellence Award is based on outstanding performance and results for group achievement. Criteria include delivering exceptional customer-oriented services, saving cost and/or time, maintaining high safety standards, combining talents of separate units, and encouraging teamwork in the workplace. The awards will go to Auto Shop Mechanics, Physical Plant, and Events Management.

The Exceptional Support Award recognizes those employees whose daily efforts contribute to the smooth operation of their departments. These “unsung heroes” have excellent customer service skills, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment, and energy. The awards will go to Heather Aleknavage, College of Arts and Sciences (CAS); Roslyn Cress, Environmental Science; Brian Davidson, Information Technology Unit (ITU), Division of Instructional and Technology Support Services (DoIT); Christine Delan, Bachelor’s of Individualized Studies; Elaine Ehrlich, ITU, Database Application Services; Jennifer LaFreniere, Information Services; Jean McNeil, ITU, DoIT; Betty Ann Oakes, Molecular and Microbiology; Dana Park, Psychology; Sarah Patton, Psychology; Ruth Potter, Initiatives in Educational Transformation; Connie Samuel, Physical Plant; Amy Takayama-Perez, Admissions; Alice Watts, College of Visual and Performing Arts; and Suzanne Woodfine, New Century College.

The Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented for specific accomplishments that improve processes, save time or money, or improve customer service. The accomplishments result in significant benefits to the university or department. Presented twice yearly, the awards are based on nominations submitted for review by the Compensation Committee. Outstanding Achievement Award recipients are Tracy Holt, ITU, Enterprise Servers and Operations; Joe Hughes, ITU, DoIT; Paras Kaul, Creative Services, Electronic Publications; Deborah McMahon, Human Resources/Payroll; Curtis McNay, ITU, DoIT; George Oberle, Johnson Center Library; John Recker, Freedom Aquatic and Fitness Center; Leslie Shinners, Freedom Aquatic and Fitness Center; Amy Snyder, Orientation; Elizabeth Thompson, Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution; Robert Vay, Fenwick Library; and Janet Walker, Human Resources/Payroll.

Write to at