Task Force to Study Library Services Needed for 2010

Posted: September 22, 2004 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Fran Rensbarger

As the university looks forward to the year 2010, University Libraries has assembled a task force composed of members of many diverse units to look at how the libraries can and should change to meet the future needs of the academic units. The President’s Library Task Force meets for the first time today.

“Since the libraries is a core academic service, serving all of the schools and colleges of the university, it was felt we ought to have faculty deliberation with respect to where we want the libraries to be in the future,” says John Zenelis, university librarian and associate vice president for information technology.

The task force has 17 members, including a student representative. Zenelis cochairs the group with Gary Galluzzo, professor, College of Education and Human Development. The task force will look at future needs in regard to collections, electronic access, staff, physical facilities, services, functional expertise, and fund-raising in light of the call for growth in the university’s enrollment, program offerings, sponsored research, and overall quality in the 2010 academic plans.

The task force will also develop interim goals for 2006 and 2008 that will significantly advance the library towards the 2010 vision. Finally, it will assess the relationships and contracts the library has with consortia.

Other task force members are: Deborah Boehm-Davis, professor, Psychology; Lorraine Brown, professor, English; Julie Christensen, associate professor, Modern and Classical Languages; Sheila ffolliott, professor, History and Art History; John Grefenstette, chair, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology; Gerald Hanweck, professor, School of Management; Lorna Irvine, professor and senior fellow, English; Deborah Keene, associate dean, Law Library and Technology; Paul Koda, librarian for Special Collections and Archives; Connie McNeely, associate professor, School of Public Policy; Stephen Nash, associate dean, Graduate Studies and Research, School of Information Technology and Engineering; John Paden, Robinson Professor of International Studies; Roy Rosenzweig, professor, History and Art History; and Robert Sachs, chair, Mathematical Sciences. Christopher Clark, Student Government, is the student representative.

Write to at