University Achievement Award Winners Announced

Posted: August 9, 2004 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Twenty-four university employees will be honored Friday, Aug. 13, with the Quality Customer Service Award, Outstanding Achievement Awards, Exceptional Support Awards, and Outstanding Supervisor Award. They will be presented at 2 p.m. in the Johnson Center’s Dewberry Hall.

The winner of the 2004 Quality Customer Service Award is José Coradin, computing services specialist for the School of Law. This award is presented once each year to individuals or groups who have contributed to the enhancement of quality customer service at George Mason. The criteria for this award are exceptional initiative in going the extra mile to provide service to internal and external customers with timely and appropriate follow-up, responsiveness to the needs of students, patrons, or customers, and demonstrated improvement of customer service and satisfaction.

The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented for specific accomplishments that improve processes, save time or money, or improve customer service. They result in significant benefit to the university or department. Presented twice yearly, the awards are based on nominations submitted for review by the Compensation Committee. Award recipients are: John Giacomini, Law and Economics Center, School of Law; Shira Goodfellow, Human Resources and Payroll; Linda Hatcher, Fiscal Services; Robin Herron, Creative Services; Charlie Hofmann., Information Technology Unit (ITU), Technology Systems Division; Sylvie Liam, ITU, Technology Systems Division; Stacey Remick-Simkins, English; and Susan Stone, Academic and Career Services, School of Management.

The new Exceptional Support Award, given twice yearly, is designed to recognize those employees who are the university’s “worker bees,” those upon whom departments rely for the smooth running of daily departmental functions and operations. These employees demonstrate exceptional customer service, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment, and energy. Recipients are: Luis Aguirre, Johnson Center and Student Unions Operations; Christine Amaya, Mathematical Sciences; Susan Bond, George Mason University Foundation, Development Services; Mildred Carter, George Mason University Foundation, Development Services; Carolyn Combs, Telecommunications Administration/Client Services; Linda Fauteux, Staff Senate; Gilberto Guerrero, Johnson Center and Student Union Operations; Kristen Jennette, ITU, DoIT; Mary Kindred, Johnson Center and Student Union Operations; Samantha McClelland, Diversity Programs and Services; Patricia (Tish) Moreno, Office of the Provost; Mike Rothgeb, ITU, DoIT; Lynn Siegel, Academic Advising Center; and Daragh Ward, Mail Services.

The Staff Senate will also present the Outstanding Supervisor Award to Dana Park, Psychology, at the ceremony.

Write to at