IT&E Honors Faculty at Spring Awards Ceremony

Posted: May 19, 2004 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Five faculty members in the School of Information Technology and Engineering (IT&E) were honored this spring, along with outstanding students, at the school’s annual awards banquet. The awards were sponsored by area companies and foundations.

Murray Black, Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the Outstanding Faculty Service Award, which is not presented every year. Black, who joined George Mason in 1971, was the founding chair of his department (1984-90). He served as associate dean for graduate study and research (1993-96) and as interim dean (1996-97) for IT&E. He served as interim director and then director of the Institute for Computational Sciences and Informatics (1995-2000). He was the founding dean of the School of Computational Sciences (SCS) from 2000 to 2002. He received the university’s Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching and Scholarship in 1987. He also was a member of the Council of Higher Education of the Virginia Advisory Committee on Graduate and Continuing Education in Northern Virginia.

IT&E awards banquet
President Alan Merten congratulates Murray Black, center, on receiving the IT&E Outstanding Faculty Service Award. Dean Lloyd Griffiths, left, was master of ceremonies at the annual awards banquet.

Janos Gertler, Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the Outstanding Research Faculty Award, presented by the Titan Corporation. Gertler is known nationally and internationally for his work in engineering fault detection and diagnosis. He has published a book on the topic and more than 160 papers. Gertler’s pioneering work with General Motors on the development of advanced on-board diagnosis for auto engines has been adapted and is being applied on a number of production vehicle models. Originally from Hungary, Gertler came to the United States in 1981 and joined George Mason in 1985. He is a fellow of IEEE, and has held several leadership positions with the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC), which awarded him the title of IFAC Advisor for Life.

Sharon deMonsabert, Civil, Environmental, and Infrastructure Engineering, received an Outstanding Teaching Award, presented by CEXEC Inc. She teaches classes at all levels in environmental and water resources engineering, IT and civil engineering, and systems engineering. DeMonsabert, who joined George Mason in 1983, has also developed several new courses for both the undergraduate and graduate levels, including one on technical entrepreneurship. She recently adapted the course for the senior staff of the Army Corps of Engineers.

Kathleen Wage, Electrical and Computer Engineering, received an Outstanding Teaching Award, presented by Mitretek Systems. As a graduate assistant at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she received two awards for teaching. She is a researcher in signal processing and has extended her research to include effective methodologies of teaching electrical engineering concepts. She is also involved in a National Science Foundation research project on new assessment methods for the signals and systems curriculum.

Tim Beatty, Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award, presented by webMethods Inc. He has been an adjunct with the department for the past six years, and has taught eight different courses during that time at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. A senior principal with the technical staff of TASC Inc., Beatty is best known for his hands-on course in robotics, which has contributed to a revival of student interest in the subject.

Write to at