University Recognizes Faculty, Staff for Years of Service

Posted: April 8, 2004 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

This year’s annual University Day Service Awards Breakfast takes place in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall today at 8:30 a.m. President Alan Merten, with assistance from Senior Vice President Maurice Scherrens and Vice President for University Life Karen Rosenblum, presents the awards for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35 years of service. A record 386 employees are eligible for service awards this year.

This year, four people are celebrating 35 years of service to the university and/or the commonwealth. They are George Andrykovitch, Environmental Science and Policy; Esther Elstun, Modern and Classical Languages; Evans Mandes, Art and Visual Technology; and Jay Shaffer, Environmental Science and Policy. Nine people are celebrating 30 years of service. They are Ralph Baxter, English; A. Richard Bolstein, Applied and Engineering Statistics; Lloyd Duck, Graduate School of Education; Klaus Fischer, Mathematical Sciences; Theodore Gessner, Psychology; James Metcalf, College of Nursing and Health Science; Victoria Rader, Sociology and Anthropology; Miriam Raskin, Social Work; and James Sanford, Psychology.

Employees of the Month will also be recognized, and Merten will present the annual University Citizenship Award.

University Day marks the day in 1972 when Gov. Linwood Holton granted George Mason College university status by signing a General Assembly bill into law.

Write to at