Endowed Scholarships Named in Memory of Faculty

Posted: May 13, 2003 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Helping deserving students reach their potential through endowed scholarships is a top priority of The Campaign for George Mason University.

Since 1998, when the campaign began, 56 scholarship endowments have been initiated, according to Judith Marshall Jobbitt, president of the George Mason University Foundation and vice president for University Development and Alumni Affairs. Of these, 7 have been named in memory of deceased faculty members as a result of donations from colleagues, former students, family members, and friends. These scholarships honor:

Uvaldo Acosta, a coach of the George Mason University men’s volleyball team who graduated from the university with a B.A. in Sociology. Following his death in 1998, a scholarship was established in his name for an undergraduate student who is a member of the volleyball team.

Howard R. Bloch, professor of economics who died in 2000. The Bloch Scholarship and Award are available to a full-time undergraduate majoring in economics.

Sam di Bonaventura, professor of music who died in 1998 shortly after he retired from George Mason. The scholarship that bears his name is open to a full-time undergraduate who is a string player majoring in music.

Mary Annette Gorn, who earned her M.Ed. from George Mason before serving as a counselor in the Academic Advising office. She passed away in 2000. The scholarship in her name assists a student who is pursuing a degree in counseling and development.

Carl M. Harris, BDM International Inc. Professor of Information Technology. He died in 2000. The Harris Scholarship is open to a full-time graduate student pursuing a degree in systems engineering and operations research.

Gunda Sporer Oppenheimer, a French and Spanish instructor who earned her M.S. in Foreign Languages from George Mason. She died in 2001. The prize in her name is available to a rising junior or senior to defray the costs of participating in a study abroad program in France.

Joseph D. Shirk, professor of music and chair of the Department of Music. He died in 2000. The scholarship established in his memory is open to full-time undergraduate or graduate music majors.

In addition, gifts equivalent to new endowments have been added to memorial scholarship or fellowship endowments predating the campaign. These funds honor faculty members Joseph L. Fisher, distinguished visiting professor of political economy and special assistant to the president, who died in 1992; Richard S. Murphy, professor of law, who died in 1997; and Evelyn L. Pugh, professor and first chair of the History Department, who died in 1987.

For more information, e-mail Kathleen Kehoe, director of Scholarship Development, or call (703) 993-8740.

Write to at