Students, Faculty, and Alumni Honored by Alumni Association

Posted: April 25, 2003 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Tara Laskowski

Each year the George Mason Alumni Association recognizes outstanding students, alumni, and faculty at its Celebration of Distinction. This year’s banquet was held April 23 in Dewberry Hall.

Award recipients included Faculty Member of the Year Doris Bitler, associate dean for undergraduate academic affairs and an associate professor of psychology; Alumnus of the Year J. Gregory Bedner, B.S. Business Administration ’76 and J.D. ’83; Alumni Service Award winner Jennifer Hess, J.D. ’95; and Senior of the Year, biology major Amit Sinha.

Celebration of Distinction
The honorees at the Celebration of Distinction ceremony pause for a group photo.

Several scholarships were also awarded. Stephen Ten Eyck, a junior psychology student, was the recipient of the John C. Wood Scholarship for undergraduates. Beverly Stewart was the recipient of the John C. and Louise P. Wood Graduate Scholarship. She is currently enrolled in the Master of Initiatives in Educational Transformation Program at George Mason. This year’s Peter Forame Student Leader Scholarship went to Jeanine Talley, a third-year integrative studies student in New Century College.

Alumni chapters and university departments also presented awards.

Write to at