Staff Senate Election Winners Announced

Posted: April 15, 2003 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The winners of this year’s Staff Senate election were recently announced. Eight newly elected and re-elected senators will begin their term July 1, 2003, and serve through June 30, 2005.

Newly elected senators are Brian Bannon, Police Department (Fairfax); Ann Ludwick, Public and International Affairs (Fairfax); and Stuart Phelan (Arlington.)

Re-elected senators are: Ida Barbour, Community Relations (Fairfax); Pam Bruno, Athletics Department (Fairfax); Winston Jones, Physical Plant (Fairfax); Cathy Evans, Summer Term Office (Fairfax); and Mary Buckley, University Libraries (Prince William).

The Staff Senate has 11 voting representatives for the Fairfax Campus, 2 for the Arlington Campus, and 3 for the Prince William Campus. Senators are elected to a two-year term, and the terms are staggered to permit election of approximately one-half of the Senate body each year. A recent resignation from one senator has created an empty seat that will be filled during a special election held later this year.

New senators will be eligible to vote for the first time at the July 17 meeting.

Write to at