Awards Ceremony Friday Honors Faculty, Staff

Posted: August 28, 2002 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Fifteen university employees will be honored Friday with Outstanding Achievement Awards from Human Resources. The award is granted for achievement or specific accomplishments that improve processes, save time or money, or improve customer service, and result in significant benefit to the university, school, institute or department. The awards are granted twice yearly, based on nominations submitted for review by the Compensation Committee.

The following faculty and staff members are being recognized in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall at 3 p.m.: David Alexander, Fenwick Library; Thomas Bacigalupi, University Police; Clodagh Bassett, School of Management; Stephen Bernard, Information Technology Unit (ITU); Joyce Bland-French, Safety Office; José Coradin, School of Law Computing Support Services; Gerald Drake, Instructional Resource Center; Elaine Ehrlich, ITU; Mihaela Enache, ITU; William Jackson, Physical Plant; Hollis McDonald, Human Resources; Patricia Morgan, ITU; Jane Pearson, University Development Office; Marlys Shoup, Department of Instructional and Technology Support Services; Joy Staulcup, Registrar’s Office; and George Wray, School of Management.

Two new awards will also be presented at the ceremony: the Presidential Citation, which recognizes an individual who performed an exceptional deed or service, and the Outstanding Supervisor Award, which recognizes the individual who, among other criteria, provides a sense of vision for the department and makes employees feel actively involved in the goals of the department.

The Presidential Citation will be awarded to David Bever, Health, Fitness, and Recreation Resources; Winston Jones, Physical Plant; and Tom Wells, Freedom Aquatic and Fitness Center. Bever rendered first aid to a student who suffered a heart attack while participating in an informal basketball game on campus. Jones performed the Heimlich maneuver on a student who was choking on food in the Johnson Center Food Court. Wells rendered immediate first aid when a patron exercising in the weight room went into cardiac arrest.

The Outstanding Supervisor Award, sponsored by the Staff Senate, will be presented to Doris Bitler, College of Arts and Sciences.

The 2002 Quality Customer Service Award will be presented to George Mason’s Orientation Office. This annual award is given for an individual or group’s contribution to the enhancement of quality customer service at George Mason.

Write to at