BOV Approves Faculty Rewards and Incentives Report

Posted: May 17, 2002 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The much-discussed Faculty Rewards and Incentives Report received the blessing of George Mason’s Board of Visitors (BOV) on Wednesday at its final regular meeting of the 2002-03 academic year.

Following the BOV’s action, the President’s Office will now formally turn the report back over to the Faculty Senate for its feedback. The senate will have 30 days in which to respond.

Highlights of the report included calls for increasing the emphasis of teaching in decisions regarding tenure; increasing the status of part-time faculty; and placing greater emphasis on the importance of term faculty.

Faculty Rewards and Incentives Committee members were Jack Censer, chairman, Department of History and Art History; Rita Carty, dean, College of Nursing and Health Science; Michael Dickerson, Department of Communication; Tom Hennessey, chief of staff to the president; Chris Hill, vice provost for research; Dee Holisky, associate dean for academic programs, College of Arts and Sciences; Mark Ingram, School of Management; Hazel McFerson, Department of Public and International Affairs; and BOV members Edwin Meese, Sidney Dewberry, Jim Miller, and Jack Herrity.

Write to at