University Recognizes Faculty, Staff for Years of Service

Posted: April 5, 2002 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

This year’s annual University Day breakfast takes place in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall today at 8:30 a.m. President Alan Merten and Maurice Scherrens, senior vice president, present the service awards. Employees of the Month from the last year also are recognized at the ceremony.

University Day marks the day in 1972 when Gov. Linwood Holton granted George Mason College university status by signing a General Assembly bill into law.

This year three people are celebrating 35 years of service to the university and/or the commonwealth. They are Lorraine Brown, English; Donald Gallehr, English; and I.B. Wekerle, Modern and Classical Languages. Eight people are celebrating 30 years of service. They are Debra Bergoffen, Philosophy and Religious Studies; Murray Black, School of Computational Sciences; Larry Bowen, Graduate School of Education; Louis Buffardi, Psychology; Aldona Gozikowski, Provost’s Office; Joseph Lieb, Physics and Astronomy; Betty Lockhart, History and Art History; and Stephen Saperstone, Mathematical Sciences.

Write to at