Alumni Association Awards Scholarships Tonight

Posted: April 2, 2002 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Colleen Kearney Rich

Each year the George Mason Alumni Association recognizes outstanding students, alumni, and faculty at its Celebration of Distinction. This year’s banquet is held tonight at 6:30 p.m. in the Johnson Center Dewberry Hall.

Award recipients include Alumnus of the Year Michael Anzilotti, M.B.A. ’83; Alumni Service Award winner Carolyn Taylor, B.S. Nursing ’78, M.S. Nursing Administration ’86, M.B.A. ’94; Faculty Member of the Year Lloyd Duck, an associate professor in the Graduate School of Education (GSE); and Senior of the Year Cassandra Pingree, Broadside editor-in-chief.

Scholarships will also be awarded. Elizabeth Waverly Tinsley, a first-year foreign language major, is the recipient of the John C. Wood Scholarship for undergraduates. Alumna Michelle R. Cowin-Gantz, B.I.S. ’01, is the recipient of the John C. and Louise P. Wood Graduate Scholarship. She is currently a graduate student in the Counseling and Development Program in GSE. This year’s Peter Forame Student Leader Scholarship goes to Lori E. Marchessault, a second-year integrative studies major with a concentration in dance therapy.

Alumni chapters and university departments are also presenting awards. For more information, call Heidi Kibirsky at x33847.

Write to at