Wrestling Team Sweeps Conference Awards

Posted: May 24, 2001 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

George Mason head coach Brian Shaffer, sophomore Donnie DeFilippis, and freshman Tony Howard have swept the major wrestling awards from the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) for the 2000-01 season. Shaffer was named the CAA Coach of the Year, while DeFilippis was selected the league’s Wrestler of the Year. Howard was chosen as the CAA Rookie of the Year.

Shaffer earned Coach of the Year laurels for a second time, joining former Patriot mentor Mike Moyer as two-time recipients of the honor. DeFilippis became the second George Mason wrestler to be named Wrestler of the Year, joining two-time honoree John Curtis (1992-93). Howard follows in the footsteps of Chris Mansueto (1995), Sean Shea (1996), and DeFilippis (2000) as Patriots honored as Rookie of the Year.

Shaffer guided George Mason to a school-record 105.5 points and its fifth CAA team title in the 10 years the conference has hosted a championship event. Shaffer has led George Mason to CAA titles in 1996, 1997, and 2001, and he earned Coach of the Year honors in his first year with the Patriots in 1995-96.

Write to at