Stanley Taylor Appointed to White House Commission

Posted: May 7, 2001 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Stanley Taylor, associate vice president for the Arlington Campus, has been appointed to the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars. The commission is composed of 32 members from across the country who are appointed by the president of the United States.

Commissioners are responsible for establishing selection criteria for the program in conjunction with the Department of Education; selecting the scholars; promoting state and local publicity for the scholars and the program; assisting with the coordination, planning, and attendance of National Recognition Week activities; and fundraising.

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by Executive Order of the president, to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Students have the opportunity to become Presidential Scholars based on two paths of accomplishments. The majority of the scholars are selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. Approximately 20 additional students are selected on the basis of their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts, or creative writing.

Write to at