Four New Schools to Join CAA July 1

Posted: April 5, 2001 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) commissioner Thomas Yeager announced that the University of Delaware, Drexel University, Hofstra University, and Towson University will become CAA members effective July 1, 2001.

The quartet will partner with George Mason University, James Madison University, the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Old Dominion University, Virginia Commonwealth University, and the College of William and Mary to form a 10-team conference.

Due to the timing of the transition, the four newcomers – all currently members of the America East Conference – will remain as associate members and compete in the America East in the fall of 2001 in men’s and women’s soccer, field hockey, and volleyball. Beginning with the winter sports, including the 2001-02 basketball season, the four schools will compete as full CAA members, playing full CAA schedules. With their arrival, the CAA will add championships in men’s lacrosse and softball in the spring of 2002, bringing the total number of sports sponsored by the conference to 20.

Write to at