Evans Sweeps CAA Top Honors, Herring on First Team

Posted: March 7, 2001 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Senior George Evans swept the three major awards and senior Erik Herring joined him as a first-team selection at the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) men’s basketball awards banquet last week at the Richmond Marriott.

Evans was named the CAA Player of the Year for the third straight season, joining former U.S. Naval Academy and current San Antonio Spurs star David Robinson as the only players to win the award three times. Evans was also selected as the Defensive Player of the Year for the second time in the past three seasons, and he is a first-team All-CAA selection for the third straight year. Herring earned first-team honors after being a second-team pick last season.

Evans also was honored with the conference’s Dean Ehlers Award, which is presented annually to the men’s basketball student-athlete who “embodies the highest standards of leadership, integrity, and sportsmanship through his academic and athletic achievement.” It is named for the former James Madison University director of athletics, and Evans is the third George Mason student-athlete to win the award. Keith Holdan was selected as the men’s recipient last season, while Keri Chaconas was the women’s honoree in 1995.

Write to at