BOV Names Faculty Awards and Incentives Committee

Posted: January 25, 2001 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The members of the proposed faculty awards and incentives committee were announced at yesterday’s Board of Visitors (BOV) meeting. Jack Censer, chair of the History and Art History Department, will chair this 10-member group that includes representatives of the faculty, administration, and BOV.

Other members of the committee are Sidney Dewberry, Jack Herrity, and James Miller of the BOV; Chris Hill, vice provost for research, Rita Carty, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Science, and Dee Holisky, associate dean for academic programs, from the administration; and Censer, Susan Trechter, English Language Institute, Michael Dickerson, Communication, and a person to be named from the faculty.

In other matters, the BOV approved proposed graduate degrees in e-commerce, enterprise engineering, and in communication; and approved an average rate increase for students living on campus next year of 2.9 percent.

Finally, the BOV voiced its support of President Alan Merten’s efforts to reverse Gov. Gilmore’s recent proposal to reduce George Mason’s operating budget by $162,754. The BOV also called for Gilmore and the General Assembly to increase the governor’s proposed salary hike for faculty members next year to five percent.

Write to at