Mary Wakefield Named to National Advisory Council

Posted: October 19, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Mary Wakefield, director of the Center for Health Policy, has been named one of eight new appointees to the National Advisory Council of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) by Donna Shalala, secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Composed of 21 private-sector experts on health-related issues, this council provides advice to both the secretary and director of AHRQ.

“These new members bring a wealth of knowledge and experience that will enrich the council’s ability to advise AHRQ on its policy direction and research portfolio,” says Shalala. “Their imaginative and creative leadership will help the agency achieve its goal of improving the quality of health care services for all Americans.”

The other new appointees are William Schaffer, senior vice president of CIGNA HealthCare; Robert Meenan, professor of health services at Boston University; William Jessee, president of the Medical Group Management Association; Janice Platner, director of programs at the National Breast Cancer Coalition; Arthur Garson Jr., dean for academic operations at Baylor College of Medicine; Marita Titler, director of research, quality, and outcomes management at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics; and Jo Ivey Bouford, dean of the Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University.

Write to at