Nursing Administration Academy Addresses Challenges of Health Care Leadership

Posted: July 8, 2011 at 1:02 am, Last Updated: July 7, 2011 at 7:40 pm

By Lea Lubag

More than 50 nursing students and nurses from Northern Virginia attended a three-day workshop at Mason on June 28-30 to address the challenges of health care leadership.

Participants at the 2011 Nursing Administrative Leadership Academy listened to presentations and contributed to small group discussions to learn specific strategies they can use to become innovative leaders in health care.

“The major message for the conference is that the health workforce is changing — workers are getting older, older workers are retiring, mid-career turnover is increasing and skill shortage is growing,” says Robin Remsburg, professor and director of the School of Nursing, which sponsored the conference.

Remsburg adds that leaders “have to learn to love change. Good leaders need to manage the lifecycle of their organization’s workforce. They need to pay attention to everything from the recruitment of new talent, to developing the essential skills and leadership capacity in current workers, to succession planning to ensure critical knowledge is not lost,” she says.

Angela Barron McBride, author of “The Growth and Development of Nursing Leaders,” and David DeLong, author of “Lost Knowledge and Talent Management,” were keynote speakers for the event. The workshop was led by Barbara Hatcher, an adjunct faculty member in the School of Nursing.

The following individuals served on panels, led workshops for discussion or gave lectures to participants: Kathy Dickman, P.J. Maddox, Renee Milligan, Robin Remsburg and Margie Rodan from Mason’s College of Health and Human Services faculty; Patricia Hinton Walker, from the Uniformed Services University; Debra Toney, president of the National Black Nurses’ Association; and Marie Dennis, chief nurse executive of Inova Fair Oaks Hospital. Rodan was the overall organizer of the workshop.

Mason nursing PhD students Kristin Caulfield, Patricia Conway-Morana, Patty Franklin, Theresa Gaffney and Ana Stoehr served on the workshop planning committee, introduced speakers and led breakout sessions.

Write to gazette at