University Day Honors Employees for Years of Service

Posted: April 19, 2011 at 1:02 am, Last Updated: April 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm

University Day, traditionally the day the university celebrates its employees’ service to the Commonwealth of Virginia, was split into two days this year to honor the more than 600 employees with five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service.

On April 6, the university hosted a pizza party to recognize the five-, 10- and 15-year employees, as well as the corporate partners, Dining Services/Sodexo, Mail Services and Parking Services/Standard Parking.

On April 7, a breakfast at the Mason Inn recognized employees with 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service.

During the breakfast, a video interview with the 40-year employees was shown. Mason Press Secretary Daniel Walsch spoke with Emmett Holman, associate professor and undergraduate advisor in the Department of Philosophy; Michael Kelley, executive director and Distinguished Service Professor for Capitol Connection; and James Trefil, Robinson Professor of Physics. The video, which was filmed and edited by GMU-TV, is posted on the Human Resources and Payroll website.

Following is a list of the employees with 25, 30 and 35 years of service:

25 Years

  • Kathleen Alligood, professor, Mathematical Sciences, and associate dean of the Honors College
  • Shaul Bakhash, Robinson Professor of History
  • Adrienne Barna, director, Psychological Services, Counseling and Psychological Services
  • Kevin Barrett, lieutenant, Support Services Bureau, University Police
  • Alok Berry, associate professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Geoffery Birchard, associate professor, Environmental Science and Policy
  • Jeanette Blanchard, database analyst, Database Application Services
  • Donald Boudreaux, general director, Center for Study of Public Choice in the Department of Economics
  • William Brown, head coach, Baseball, Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Joanne Carter, grants administrator, Office of Sponsored Programs
  • Carmellia Coe, fiscal manager, Capitol Connection
  • Gerald Cook, professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • John Crockett, professor, School of Management
  • Paul D’Andrea, Robinson Professor of Theater and English
  • Steve Dang, serials check-in coordinator, Library
  • Susanne Denham, professor, Psychology
  • Wayne Froman, associate professor, Philosophy
  • Kathleen Gaffney, assistant dean, Doctoral Studies Division, College of Health and Human Services
  • Janos Gertler, professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Paula Gilbert, professor, French/Women and Gender Studies, Modern and Classical Languages
  • Barry Haack, professor, Geography and Geoinformation Science
  • Karla Hoffman, professor, Systems Engineering and Operation Research
  • Abul Hussam, professor and director, Clean Water and Sustainable Tech Center, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • William Jackson, auto shop supervisor, Facilities Management
  • Mark Jacobs, associate professor, Sociology and Anthropology
  • G. Diane Knight, counselor, Counseling and Psychological Services
  • Ronald Lim, manager, Recycling/Waste
  • James Maddux, professor, Psychology
  • Saul Menacho, crew leader, Student Centers
  • Patricia Nash, director, Fiscal and Administrative Operations, College of Education and Human Development
  • Karen Newman, director, Administrative Services, School of Law
  • John Riskind, professor, Psychology
  • Timothy Sauer, professor, Mathematical Sciences
  • David Schum, professor, School of Law, Systems Engineering and Operation Research
  • Ronald Secrest, director, Information Technology Unit
  • Edward Wegman, professor, Statistics
  • Sandra Winter, computer systems engineer, Systems Engineering

30 Years

  • Kevin Avruch, professor, Conflict Resolution and Anthropology, Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution
  • John Costello, professor, School of Law
  • Myra Crosen, associate director for human resources, ITU – Administrative Services
  • Richard Diecchio, associate dean, College of Science
  • Robert Ellsworth, professor, Physics and Astronomy
  • R. Christian Jones, professor, Environmental Science and Policy, and director, Potomac Environmental Research and Education Center
  • Linda Miller, senior associate dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • John Sacco, associate professor, Public and International Affairs
  • Linda Schwartzstein, vice provost, Provost’s Office
  • Walter Williams, professor, Economics
  • Stanley Zoltek, associate professor, Computational and Data Sciences

35 Years

  • Kenneth Beaty, superintendent, Heating and Cooling Plant, Facilities Management
  • James Bennett, professor, Economics
  • Roberto Coronel, crew leader, Student Centers
  • Douglas Mose, professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Frederick Schack, associate professor, College of Education and Human Development
  • Maurice Scherrens, senior vice president
  • Lich Tran, academic records specialist, Registrar

Write to gazette at