Employees Awarded for Going Above and Beyond

Posted: August 7, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Thirty George Mason employees and all 15 members of Student Health Services were honored Friday by the Human Resources office at their annual Employee Awards Ceremony.

Outstanding and Exemplary Performance Awards, which result in a permanent, one-step pay increase, were presented by President Alan Merten to nine recipients. They are Jane Barton, School of Law; Ilissa Belanger, School of Law; Charles Bridge, Physical Plant; Barbara Gomperts, English Department; Tina Liu, Account and Loan Management Office; Carol McGinnis, Fiscal Services; Nancy Parada, Print Services; Dana Park, Psychology Department; and Martha Schultz, University Relations.

Merten also presented 20 employees with Exemplary Performance Awards. The awards, which includes a check for 2.25 percent of their annual salaries, were presented to Erica Adegbite, Women’s Center; Judi Chamberlain, Department of Instructional Improvement and Instructional Technologies (DoIIIT); Bill Crummett, Physical Plant; Maureen Danforth, Graduate School of Education (GSE); Gail Hodges, Institute for Computational Sciences and Informatics; Jennifer LaFreniere, Information Services; Susan LeBlanc, History and Art History Department; Denise Leming, School of Law; Jon Lewis, Physical Plant; Angel Manzo, School of Information Technology Engineering (IT&E); Betty Ann Oakes, Biology Department; Jayne Polachek, University Relations; Colleen Kearney Rich, University Relations; Charlotte Rinderknecht, DoIIIT; Elizabeth Spencer, History and Art History Department; Denise St. Ours, University Development; Nancy White, Information Technology; John Wickline, Physical Plant; Josefine Wiecks, IT&E; and Jane Yates, GSE.

Betsy Dvorak, University Relations, also received an award for her valuable contribution to the Employee Suggestion Program, which resulted in the significant improvement of departmental process.

The Quality Customer Service Award was presented to Student Health Services as a group by Sally Merten. The award is given every year to an individual or group for their work improving customer service, responding to the needs of students and clients, and going the extra mile to serve customers in a timely fashion. In addition to individual awards, Student Health Services’ department name will be inscribed on a plaque that will remain in the department for one year.

Write to at