Faculty Members Selected to Advise State Commission

Posted: July 13, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Emily Yaghmour

Four George Mason faculty members have been appointed members of advisory committees serving the Joint Commission on Technology and Science, which was created by the 1997 Virginia General Assembly. The purpose of the commission is to study issues related to technology and science in Virginia and to promote the development of technology and science in the state.

Each year, the commission, which consists of 12 representatives from the General Assembly, identifies several topic areas and forms advisory committees to study each area. Members of the commission serve as cochairs of the committees, which are composed of experts in the topic areas.

Scott Martin, director of the Art and Visual Technologies Division and the Internet Multimedia Center, and Jim Olds, director of the Krasnow Institute for Advanced Study, have been appointed members of the commission’s Internet governance committee, which will study two proposed pieces of legislation, one regarding Internet gambling and the other titled the Virginia Website Protection Act. This committee will also review electronic employment law.

Roger Stough, director of the Mason Enterprise Center, was asked to serve on the economic development committee, which will examine bills involving intellectual property rights. In addition, this committee will consider issues related to technology transfer, space technology and the Virginia Spaceport, and the development of information technology and biotechnology industries statewide.

Lloyd Griffiths, dean of the School of Information Technology and Engineering, was appointed to the digital divide committee, which will examine two House joint resolutions that call for providing wireless telecommunications services throughout Virginia, requiring localities to comply with the Federal Telecommunications Act of 1996, and creating a permit process for constructing telecommunications facilities. This committee will also consider issues related to the workforce shortage, and education and technology.

Write to at