Department of Justice Names Mason Professor to Science Advisory Board

Posted: November 30, 2010 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder recently named 18 experts — scholars and practitioners in the fields of criminology, statistics and sociology — to the newly created Office of Justice Programs (OJP) Science Advisory Board.  Among the group of experts, David Weisburd, Distinguished Professor of Criminology, Law and Society at Mason, was selected to serve on the panel.

The U.S. Department of Justice established the Science Advisory Board by recommendation of Laurie Robinson, assistant U.S. attorney general of the OJP, to “bridge the divide between research and practice in criminal justice fields” and to “help inform our program development activities and make sure we’re adhering to the highest level of scientific rigor.”

Criminologist Alfred Blumstein of Carnegie Mellon University was named head of the Science Advisory Board. Weisburd and the other appointees were first announced during the annual meeting of the American Society of Criminology in San Francisco held on Nov. 19. The board’s first meeting will take place early in 2011.

This past summer, Weisburd was awarded the Stockholm Prize in Criminology, considered to be the top distinction for the profession. Read more on that here.

Write to gazette at