Faculty Members Receive Teaching Excellence Awards

Posted: April 11, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The Provost’s Office has announced the winners of this year’s Teaching Excellence Awards. They are James Barry, New Century College; Linda Chrosniak, Psychology; Daniel Menasce, Computer Science; Ann Palkovich, Sociology and Anthropology; Daniel Rothbart, Philosophy and Religious Studies; Merry Sleigh-Ritzer, Psychology; and David Williams, English. The award carries a $1,500 prize, and the winners will be formally recognized at their respective academic units’ convocations at the end of the semester.

The award process begins each September when nominations are opened. A faculty member may be nominated by another faculty member, a staff member, or a student. Nominees are invited to submit statements containing their teaching philosophy and teaching innovations. The Teaching Excellence Award committee, which is composed of the award winners from the previous year, selects up to 20 of the individuals who submit statements to compile portfolios. The committee then selects the winners from the portfolios submitted.

This year, 44 professors and instructors were nominated, of whom approximately 40 submitted teaching philosophy statements. From them, the committee invited 17 nominees to submit portfolios. The seven winners were chosen from the 14 portfolios that were submitted.

The award program was created to recognize exemplary teaching at George Mason. It demonstrates the university’s commitment to outstanding teaching.

Write to at