Buchanan to Receive Mason Medal

Posted: April 6, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

James M. Buchanan, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Economics, becomes the 12th recipient of the George Mason Medal at a special dinner honoring him on Sunday, April 9. The university’s Board of Visitors unanimously voted last month to bestow this award upon him.

Buchanan came to George Mason in 1983 when he agreed to relocate his Center for the Study of Public Choice from Virginia Tech. The author of 13 books, holder of four honorary doctoral degrees from universities worldwide, and Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association, Buchanan gained international prominence in 1986 when he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Science. He is the only Virginian to receive this honor.

The George Mason Medal is the university’s highest honorary award. It is designed to honor George Mason, the man. It was first awarded in 1987. Past recipients include John T. Hazel, 1987; John C. Wood, 1988; Omer L. Hirst, 1989; Dorothy McDiarmid, 1990; Carrington Williams, 1991; Helen Hill Miller, 1992; Edwin W. Lynch and Edgar A. Prichard, 1995; Joanne F. Johnson, 1996; Sidney O. Dewberry, 1997; and Richard J. Ernst, 1998.

Write to at