Patriots Win CAA Honors

Posted: March 13, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Junior Erik Herring was selected to the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) men’s basketball all-tournament team at the recently concluded CAA Tournament. Junior George Evans was an all-defensive team honoree, and senior Keith Holdan was an all-academic selection.

Herring scored 16 points and grabbed three rebounds in a 75-58 quarterfinal win over American University, and then scored 10 points in the Patriots’ 67-56 semifinal loss to eventual CAA champion UNC-Wilmington. He was joined on the all-conference team by tournament Most Valuable Player Brett Blizzard and Ramond Perine of UNC-Wilmington, Reggie Brown and Greg Stevenson of Richmond, and Jabari Outzz of James Madison.

Evans was named to the all-defensive team for the second straight season after earning Defensive Player of the Year in 1999. He was third in the CAA in blocks (1.78) and in steals (2.04) following the regular season. Other members of the all-defensive team were Jarion Childs of American (Defensive Player of the Year), Victor Ebong of UNC-Wilmington, Tim Faulconer of Richmond, and Jim Moran of William and Mary.

Holdan was selected to the all-academic squad, along with Marcus Green of UNC-Wilmington, Scott Kauffman of Richmond, Tim Lyle of James Madison, and Saliou-Binet Telly of American. A finance major, Holdan also received the Dean Ehlers Award for leadership, academic achievement, and community service.

Write to at