Faculty Senate Meets

Posted: January 21, 2010 at 1:03 am, Last Updated: January 20, 2010 at 5:29 pm

By Robin Herron

At its first meeting of the spring semester on Jan. 20, the Faculty Senate tackled procedural issues in an effort to deal with a resolution that would specify eligibility for voting on Faculty Senate matters.

After a difference of opinion on whether the motion was “proper” according to Robert’s Rules of Order, the senate voted that the resolution was indeed proper. A senator had argued that the resolution, which would amend the bylaws and limit voting to “duly elected faculty members of the Faculty Senate,” was improper because the senate’s charter, not the bylaws, should specify voting eligibility. Currently, ex officio members of the senate, such as the provost and deans and directors of the academic units, are considered eligible to vote and do so. Discussion on the resolution will continue at the senate’s next meeting in February.

A motion to establish an ad hoc committee to study the senate’s charter and recommend changes regarding voting eligibility was referred to the senate’s Organization and Operations Committee. Changing the charter would require a meeting of the general faculty.

In other business, the senate heard reports from Shirley Travis, dean of the College of Health and Human Services, and Jorge Haddock, dean of the School of Management, on their unit’s activities.

The senate directed the chair, Peter Pober, to send a letter of thanks to Board of Visitors Rector Ernst Volgenau for allowing faculty input regarding the extension of President Alan Merten’s contract, which is due to expire next year.

Write to gazette at gazette@gmu.edu