Transition Committee Submits Recommendations regarding NCC

Posted: February 8, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The New Century College (NCC) transition committee recently submitted a report to Daniele Struppa, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), containing recommendations regarding NCC’s programs and curriculum, its staffing, and its governance. The report is available online.

Struppa; Janette Muir, interim dean of NCC; and Provost Peter Stearns have accepted the committee’s recommendations and submitted the report to the Faculty Senate for its review. Before recommendations can be implemented, however, they must be approved by the Board of Visitors (BOV). The provost will present them to the BOV at its March meeting.

The BOV called for the creation of the transition committee on June 16, 1999, when it merged New Century College into the College of Arts and Sciences, effective July 1, 2000. The purpose of the committee is to facilitate the integration. Appointed by Struppa, the committee members are George Taylor (chair), Devon Hodges, Rosemary Jann, and Stephen Zaccaro, CAS; Kimberly Eby and Elizabeth Gunn, NCC; and Scott Martin, Institute of the Arts.

Write to at