Staff Senate Selects Karen Pirhalla as Outstanding Supervisor

Posted: October 9, 2009 at 1:01 am, Last Updated: October 8, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Karen Pirhalla, outstanding supervisor

Karen Pirhalla, outstanding supervisor

The Staff Senate has announced that Karen Pirhalla, Arlington Campus executive officer, is the Outstanding Supervisor for fall 2009.

The senate received 16 nominations for this award, accompanied by multiple letters of support. The nominating letters were rated according to specified criteria, and the committee faced the difficult task of choosing one winner.

Pirhalla will be honored at the Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony to be held on Thursday, Oct. 29, at 11 a.m.

The other nominees are

Kathy Adcock, manager, Administrative Applications, TSD – Database Application Services
James Barricelli, assistant director of employee relations, University Career Services
Angel Burgos, MBA and MSA Program director, School of Management
Myung Chul Chung, research faculty, National Center for Biodefense and Infectious Diseases
Virginia (Ginny) Espina, research assistant professor, Center for Applied Proteomics and Molecular Medicine
LeRoy LaFleur, head, Arlington Campus Library
Jerrelyn Madden, clinical coordinator, Student Health Services
Thomas Moncure Jr., university counsel, Office of University Counsel
Robert Nakles, executive director, ITU – Security and Project Management
John O’Connor, director, Higher Education Program
Serguei Popov, research professor, National Center for Biodefense and Infectious Diseases
Renay Scales, director, Multicultural Research and Resource Center
Lynne Schrum, professor, College of Education and Human Development
Whitney Sublett, administrative coordinator, Communication and Events, ITU – Administrative Services
Jennifer Torney, office administrator, Arlington, School of Public Policy

Write to gazette at