Writing Across the Curriculum Program Recognizes Student Writers

Posted: September 30, 2009 at 1:03 am, Last Updated: September 29, 2009 at 3:49 pm

To recognize outstanding undergraduate writers and writing across all majors, the Writing Across the Curriculum Program, which was recently included for the eighth time by U.S. News and World Report in its listing of “Academic Programs to Look for,” has joined with departments to support and publicize awards currently given for students’ written work.

In 2009, awards in 15 different disciplines were given to 32 students.

For more information about the goals and history of the Student Writing Excellence Awards, as well as information about how to institute awards in your department, see the WAC web site.

The 2009 awards and recipients follow.

2008-09 Accounting Advisory Council Excellence in Writing Award
Outstanding Paper Award
Naly Han

African and African American Studies
Langston Hughes Award
Outstanding Paper Award
Andrew Simon

Art History
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute Award for Excellence in Art Historical Writing
Outstanding Paper Award
Sana Mirza

Art and Visual Technology
AVT Senior Writing Award
Outstanding Paper Award
Jeremy S. Shedd and Jason B. Hartsel

Excellence in Undergraduate Writing in Biology
Outstanding Paper Award
Caitlyn A. Scott, Lara R. Mittereder and Amanda Zirzow

Computer Science
Excellence in Undergraduate Writing in Computer Science
Outstanding Paper Award
Emlyn C. Pratt

College of Health and Human Services
CHHS Excellence in Writing Award
Nursing:  Kathryn Boriack
Social Work: Jeremy Milliken

The James Buchanan Award
Katherine Akudovich (1st place), Claire Forman (2nd place) Owen Ito (honorable mention)
The F. A. Hayek Award
Romina Boccia (1st place), William Brayer (2nd place), Maria Andersen (honorable mention), Theodore Phalan (honorable mention)

Outstanding Honors Thesis
Joseph B. Swetnam (1st place), Christina Lee (honorable mention), Kaitlin A. Huggins (honorable mention)

Tom Brawley Award for Excellence in Writing
Amanda Cook

Best Report for PSYC 301
Lauren Anne McGill (1st place), Lily A. Stone (runner up)

Public and International Affairs/Government
PIA Writing Award
Christopher J. Morley and Matthew A. Kiehl

School of Management
SOM 301 Writing Award
Colette Banet, Mina Shahbaz and Lee A. Winter

School of Recreation, Health and Tourism
RHT Excellence in Writing Award
Cory L. Stevens and Gregory N. Shedd

Excellence in Writing in Spanish
Liana E. Montecinos

Write to gazette at gazette@gmu.edu