Provost’s Office Announces Study Leave Recipients

Posted: January 17, 2000 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

The Office of the Provost awarded 31 faculty members study leave for the 2000-2001 academic year. The leave is intended to provide tenured faculty members with a break from their regular university responsibilities to write books, conduct research, develop new teaching methods, and pursue other activities that help them to develop further expertise in their disciplines.

Recipients may receive leave for one semester at full-time salary or for two semesters at half-time salary. The awards are granted upon recommendation of an advisory committee composed of former faculty study leave awardees.

The Office of the Provost provides funds to hire replacements for faculty members on study leave. These funds come from the provost’s allocation of the overhead costs that the university recovers from research grants and contracts financed by the federal government and industry.

Following are the leave recipients for the 2000-2001 academic year:

Laura Adamkewicz, Biology; Sheryl Beach, Geography and Earth Science; Peter Black, Sociology and Anthropology; Alex Brodsky, Information and Software Engineering; Zofia Burr, English; Elizabeth Choi, Nursing and Health Science; Warren Decker, Communication; Suzanne Denham, Psychology; Peter Denning, Computer Science; Yariv Ephraim, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Janos Gertler, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Frances Harbour, Public and International Affairs; Carl Harris, Systems Engineering and Operations Research; Joseph Harsh, History and Art History; Peter Henriques, History and Art History; Dimitris Ioannou, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Lorna Irvine, English; Don Kash, The Institute of Public Policy; John Kulusza, Mathematical Sciences; Catherine Malloy, Health, Fitness, and Recreation Resources; Coilin Owens, English; Robert Pasnak, Psychology; Roman Polyak, Mathematical Sciences; John Radner, English; Sanjeev Setia, Computer Science; Susan Shreve, English; Mary Silva, Nursing and Health Science; Arun Sood, Computer Science; Gheorghe Tecuci, Computer Science; Karen Vaughn, Economics; Henry Wechsler, Computer Science

Write to at