Mason Men’s Soccer Hall of Fame Inducts Three New Members

Posted: May 18, 2009 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Mason men’s soccer head coach Greg Andrulis announced the induction of three members into the Mason Men’s Soccer Hall of Fame. The 2009 class includes a pair of goalkeepers, Henry Castaneda and John O’Hara, and forward John Kelly.

With the induction of the 2009 class, the total number of members of the Men’s Soccer Hall of Fame stands at 16.

Henry Castaneda (1971-74)

Goalkeeper Henry Castaneda became the first All-American in the history of the Mason men’s soccer program when he received the honor in 1974.

A three-time All-South Atlantic Region selection, Castaneda’s play in goal helped lead the Patriots to the first winning season in program history when they finished with a 7-4 record in 1971.

Mason finished with a 42-18-4 overall record during Castaneda’s four years on the team. During that time, Castaneda was selected to the All-Virginia Intercollegiate League Team four times and the All-Mason/Dixon Conference Team three times.

He holds school records with 25 saves in a game vs. James Madison in 1971 and for 171 saves in a season the same year.

John Kelly (1991-94)

John Kelly wrapped up his four-year career at George Mason as the school’s all-time leader in assists, a record he shares to this day with Eduardo Lima.

Kelly started every match at forward during his four years on the team and earned back-to-back Second-Team All-CAA honors during his junior and senior seasons.

After graduating from Mason, the Warrington, England, native went on to play professionally for the Charleston Battery of the USL First Division.

John O’Hara (2001-04)

John O’Hara joined the Patriots in 2001 and made an immediate impact as a goalkeeper, earning CAA Rookie of the Year honors.

He was selected to the College Soccer News Freshman All-American Team that same season. A four-time All-CAA selection and three-time VaSID All-Virginia selection, O’Hara was named Second-Team All-South Atlantic Region in 2002.

O’Hara ranks among Mason’s career leaders in minutes played (2nd, 7,501), saves (4th, 286) and shutouts (2nd, 27).

After graduating from Mason, O’Hara moved into the professional ranks, playing for the Sligo Rovers (Eircom League), Carolina RailHawks (USL First Division) and the Wilmington Hammerheads (USL Second Division).

The 2009 class of inductees joins the inductees from the 2006, 2007 and 2008 classes in the Men’s Soccer Hall of Fame.

Previous inductees are Joseph Addo (1991-92), Doug Bradley (1984-86), former head coach Gordon Bradley (1985-2000), Richard Broad (1976-84), Martin Dunphy (1986-89), Denis Hamlett (1989-91), Rich Kotschau (1993, 95-97), Eduardo Lima (1996-2000), Tamir Linhart (1991-93), Richard “Doc” Resnick, M.D., Mike Reynolds (1982-85), Sam Sumo (1985-87) and Fred Thompson (1982-85).

Write to at