Teaching Excellence Honored

Posted: April 15, 2009 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Pamela Baker
Pamela Hudson Baker

“Inspiring” was the byword of the day, as the winners of the 2009 George Mason University Teaching Excellence Awards were honored at a celebration on Monday, April 13, in the Center for the Arts.

Provost Peter Stearns introduced each of the six teaching award winners, and Donald Gallehr, associate professor of English who won the David J. King Award last year, presented the 2009 King award to Debra Bergoffen, professor of philosophy.

Bergoffen, who will retire at the end of the semester, confessed to being a bit emotional receiving her award, although, she said, “I am a philosopher, and we are always rational.”

Karen Hallows
Karen Hallows

She went on to comment about her 38-year tenure at the university.

“This has been an amazing place to be for the past 38 years,” she said. “When I came here, this was just a four-year teaching institution, and the university has never forgotten its roots in terms of its mission.

“I became a teacher-scholar. Teaching and scholarship are always in tension with each other, but the tension has been mitigated here as much as it can be. It’s been a wonderful place to have a passion in life.”

Debra Bergoffen giving speech
Debra Bergoffen makes remarks after receiving the David J. King Award.

Peter Stearns and Debra Bergoffen
Provost Peter Stearns and Debra Bergoffen

The winners of the 2009 Teaching Excellence Award are

  • Pamela Hudson Baker, assistant professor of special education, College of Education and Human Development

  • Chawky Frenn, associate professor of art and visual technology, College of Visual and Performing Arts (General Education Award)

  • Karen Hallows, assistant professor of finance and EMBA academic director, School of Management

  • Kumar Mehta, assistant professor of information systems and operations management, School of Management

  • Linda Monson, professor of music, associate chair and director of keyboard studies, College of Visual and Performing Arts

  • Esperanza Roman-Mendoza, associate professor of Spanish, College of Humanities and Social Sciences (Teaching with Technology Award)

Esperanza Roman-Mendoza
Esperanza Roman-Mendoza

Bergoffen was honored with the David J. King Award for significant, long-term contributions to enhancing educational excellence at Mason.

Teaching Excellence Award winners were selected through a competitive process in which they documented their educational excellence. Award winners received a $2,000 stipend and $1,000 to support their teaching and learning activities.

The awards are coordinated and directed by Kimberly Eby, associate provost for faculty development and director of the Center for Teaching Excellence. Selection committee members for all awards were Joani Bedore, Pamela Cangelosi, Linda Chrosniak, Nada Dabbagh, Rick Davis, Al Fuertes, Don Gallehr, Howard Kurtz, Giuseppina Kysar Mattietti, Star Muir, Victoria Salmon and Lesley Smith.

Photos by Evan Cantwell.

Kumar Mehta
Kumar Mehta

Provost Peter Stearns and Linda Monson
Stearns and Linda Monson

Provost Peter Stearns with Chawky Frenn
Stearns with Chawky Frenn

Write to at