Tovuujav Named to CAA All-Freshman Wrestling Team

Posted: April 8, 2009 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Mendbagana Tovuujav
Mason Athletics photo

Freshman Mendbagana Tovuujav was recognized for his outstanding rookie season on Tuesday when he was named to the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) All-Freshman Team at 174 pounds.

The team was selected through a vote of the CAA’s head wrestling coaches at their annual spring meeting.

Tovuujav was named the 2009 CAA Championships’ Most Outstanding Wrestler after capturing the 174-pound title. The second seed in the weight class, Tovuujav won by technical fall (21-6) against Sacred Heart’s Jonathon Rizzitello in the quarterfinals, 9-3 over the third seed Hunter Meys of Boston University in the semifinals and 3-1 in overtime against the ninth-ranked, no. 1 seed Alton Lucas of Hofstra in the championship bout. Lucas entered the match as the defending conference champion.

Tovuujav was one of two Mason wrestlers to qualify for the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in St. Louis, Mo. At the national tournament, Tovuujav took a pair of close losses at 174 pounds and was eliminated from the competition.

Including the two losses at the NCAA Championships, Tovuujav wrapped up the season with a 24-9 overall record with four falls, four technical falls and four major decisions. He posted a perfect 6-0 record in CAA dual matches.

In addition to Tovuujav, the All-Freshman Team consisted of Steve Bonanno of Hofstra at 125 pounds (CAA runner-up, win at NCAAs), Jim Kirchner of Rider at 133 pounds (CAA third place), Justin Accordino of Hofstra at 141 pounds (CAA runner-up), Paul Gillespie of Hofstra at 149 pounds (CAA champion, two wins at NCAAs), Justin Lister of Binghamton at 157 pounds, Alex Rinaldi of Drexel at 165 pounds (win at CAAs), Ben Clymer of Hofstra at 184 pounds (CAA third place), Tyler Smith of Rider at 197 pounds and Jordan Enck of Hofstra at 285 pounds (CAA third place).

Old Dominion All-American Ryan Williams was named the CAA Wrestler of the Year. Hofstra’s Tom Shifflet was named the CAA Coach of the Year and Hofstra’s PJ Gillespie was named the CAA Rookie of the Year.

Write to at