Mason Vocal Students Rack Up Awards at Virginia State Voice Competition

Posted: March 24, 2009 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Catherine Ferraro

Twenty-eight students from Mason’s Department of Music Vocal Studies Program placed or received honors in almost every category at the 2009 National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) Virginia State Conference and Vocal Competition.

Hundreds of voice students and teachers from universities across the state participated in the conference, which took place earlier this month at Shenandoah Conservatory. Ten of the winners received recognition in their vocal categories, which ranged from the freshman level to graduate and continuing education levels.

The Mason students study in the voice studios of Patricia Miller, University Professor of Music and director of the vocal studies program; Kathryn Hearden, voice and vocal studies faculty member; Rick Novak, voice faculty member; and Debby Wenner, voice faculty member.

First place winners are:

Emma McDermott (College Freshmen Women)

Danielle Dean (College Freshmen Women)

Briona Jackson (College Freshmen Women)

Mia Rojas (College Sophomore Women)

Anne Marie White (College Sophomore Women)

Jonathan Hoffman (College Senior Men)

Jennifer Hegmann (Graduate Musical Theater Women)

Second place winners are:

Ayana Reed (College Freshmen Women)

Amanda Cullin (College Sophomore Women)

Stephanie Edewaard (College Sophomore Women)

Rebecca Elam (College Sophomore Women)

Terry Barr (College Sophomore Men and Freshman/Sophomore Musical Theater)

Jessie Buckman (College Junior Women)

Claire Sampson (Advanced College Women)

Third place winners are:

Kyra Wagstaff (College Freshmen Women)

Darrick Speller (College Freshmen Men)

Sarah Lennertz (College Junior Women)

Ella Ait (Advanced College Women)

Jessie Kohls (College Women Junior/Senior)

The following students received honors:

Caroline Clymer (College Freshmen Women)

Emma Gorin (College Sophomore Women)

Camille Crofton (College Junior Women)

Ronnie Bell (College Junior Men)

Latham Gunn (College Junior Men)

Katelyn Sexton (College Senior Women)

Christian Yingling (College Senior Women)

Claire Sax (Advanced College Women)

Sun Yong Hong (Advanced College Women)

Kyra Wagstaff (Freshman/Sophomore Musical Theater)

These students are eligible to participate in the NATS Mid-Atlantic Regional Voice Competition at Appalachian State University in Boone, N.C., April 3–4.

Founded in 1944, the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) is the largest association of teachers of singing in the world and boasts more than 6,500 members in the United States, Canada and more than 25 other countries around the world.

Write to at