2008 Celebration of Scholarship Honors Tangney, Satyapal

Posted: October 20, 2008 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Nicole Snyder

Each year, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences(CHSS) and the College of Science (COS) join to recognize the scholarly and creative activities of faculty and students at an annual Celebration of Scholarship. This year, June Price Tangney, Department of Psychology, and Shobita Satyapal, Department of Physics and Astronomy, will be recognized for their research and scholarly work.

The event will be held on Monday, Oct. 20, from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. in the Mason Hall Alumni Atrium on the Fairfax Campus. The celebration includes a gala reception.

For complete event information, see the CHSS web site.

June Tangney
June Tangney

A recipient of Mason’s Teaching Excellence Award, Tangney strives to integrate service, teaching, and clinically relevant research in the classroom and her lab.

Tangney joined Mason’s Psychology Department in 1988 and has attained the rank of University Professor.

A fellow of the American Psychological Association’s Division of Personality and Social Psychology, Tangney is the author of “Shame and Guilt” (with Ronda Dearing) and the editor of “Self-Conscious Emotions: Shame, Guilt, Embarrassment and Pride” (with Kurt Fischer) and the “Handbook of Self and Identity” (with Mark Leary). She is currently an associate editor of American Psychologist.

Her research focuses on the moral emotions among incarcerated offenders.

Shobita Satyapal, an associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, studies observational infrared extragalactic astronomy and instrumentation, as well as the spectroscopy of galaxies.

Shobita Satyapal
Shobita Satyapal

Satyapal’s current research focuses on the connection and development of supermassive black holes and the galaxies in which they reside. Her work has resulted in the publication of 23 articles in refereed journals.

While trying to understand the role of these galaxies, Satyapal has used imaging and observations from Chandra and the Spitzer Space Telescope. In 1998, she received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the government to young scientists.

The CHSS Dean’s Challenge recipients and COS Merit Award recipients will also be recognized at the event. These students will be honored for their exceptional work throughout their academic career.

Write to at