Mason’s Distinguished Faculty Honored

Posted: August 21, 2008 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

At a reception on Aug. 20, Mason’s distinguished faculty – holders of endowed chairs, Distinguished Service Professors, University Professors and Clarence J. Robinson Professors – were honored and several new members were welcomed to their ranks.

Provost Peter Stearns welcomed the distinguished faculty and thanked them “for what you’ve done and and what you will do.” He also called upon the senior faculty members to develop mentoring relationships with younger faculty members.

President Alan Merten referred to the group as Mason’s “best and brightest,” and echoed Stearns’ exhortation to mentor new faculty.

Recalling his experience traveling abroad this summer, Merten also encouraged the group to consider “the global dimension” of the work that they do.

“You’ll see, as I did, what George Mason University means to other institutions around the world and what they expect of us.”

President Alan Merten with faculty
President Alan Merten, center, shares a laugh with professors Anthony Maiello and Paul D’Andrea.

College of Humanities and Social Sciences Dean Jack Censer and College of Health and Human Services Dean Shirley Travis introduced four faculty members who have recently joined the “distinguished” group.

Current faculty members Deborah Boehm-Davis, Psychology; Naomi Lynn Gerber, Health and Human Services; and Stephen Mastrofski, Administration of Justice, have been named University Professors. In addition, David Lee Weisburd, who joins the Administration of Justice faculty this fall, has been named a Distinguished Service Professor.

faculty at reception
Naomi Lynn Gerber, center, was recently named a University Professor. With her are James Olds and Lloyd Griffiths.
faculty at reception
College of Health and Human Services Dean Shirley Travis, center, welcomed distinguished faculty.
Creative Services photos

The full list of distinguished faculty follows.

Endowed Chairs

Andrea Bartoli, French Cumbie Chair of Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Michael Behrmann, Helen A. Kellar Professor of Special Education

James T. Bennett, William P. Snavely Professor of Political Economy and Public Policy

Michael Bronzini, Sidney O. Dewberry Endowed Chair for Civil Environmental and Infrastructure Engineering

Francis H. Buckley, Mason Foundation Professor of Law

Sandra Cheldelin, Vernon M. and Minnie I. Lynch Professor of Conflict Resolution

Gerald Cook, Earle C. Williams Professor of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

Tyler Cowen, Holbert L. Harris Chair in Economics

Amitava Dutta, LeRoy Eakin Senior Professor of E-commerce

Michael G. Ferri, George Mason University Foundation Professor of Finance

Stephen F. Fuller, Dwight C. Schar Faculty Chair in Public Policy and University Professor

Jack A. Goldstone, Virginia E. and John T. Hazel Jr. Endowed Chair

Marc Gopin, James H. Laue Chair in World Religions Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution

Kingsley E. Haynes, Ruth D. Hazel and John T. Hazel, M.D., Faculty Chair in Public Policy

Laurence R. Iannocone, David H. Koch and Charles G. Koch Professor of International Economics

Sushil Jajodia, BDM International Professor of Information Technology and University Professor

Gary Kreps,Eileen and Steve Mandell Term Professor of Health Communication

Gopal Krishnan, VSCPA Northern Chapter Professorship in Public Accounting

Nelson R. Lund, Patrick Henry Professor of Constitutional Law and the Second Amendment

Carol C. Mattusch, Mathy Professor of Art History

Timothy J. Muris, Mason Foundation Professor of Law

Eric Pankey, Heritage Chair in Writing

Daniel Polsby, Mason Foundation Professor of Law

William Reeder, Heritage Chair in Arts and Cultural Criticism

Dennis J. Ritchie, Elisabeth Shirley Enochs Chair in Child Welfare

Nadim Rouhana, Henry Hart Rice Chair of Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Charles K. Rowley, Duncan Black Professor of Economics

Andrew P. Sage, First American Bank of Virginia Professor of Information Technology and University Professor

Roger R. Stough, Northern Virginia Chair in Local Government

Richard E. Wagner, Holbert L. Harris Chair in Economics

Edward J. Wegman, Bernard J. Dunn Professor of Information Technology and Applied Statistics

Walter E. Williams, John M. Olin Distinguished Professor of Economics

Distinguished Service Professor

Distinguished Service Professorships are aimed at faculty members whose scholarly and/or service contributions win international distinction.

Michael R. Kelley, School of Public Policy

Stuart Malawer, School of Public Policy

David Lee Weisburd, Administration of Justice

University Professors

According to the Faculty Handbook, University Professors are “men and women of unusually great stature and eminence from the world of national and international achievement.” They are appointed by the president and the Board of Visitors with the advice and consent of an ad hoc faculty committee; although they are appointed as at-large members of the general faculty, they may also be invited to accept primary affiliation in one or more departments, colleges, schools or institutes.

Zoltan Acs, Public Policy

Deborah Boehm-Davis, Psychology

Peter Boettke, Economics

Kenneth Button, Public Policy

Alan Cheuse, English

Timothy Conlan, Public and International Affairs

Susanne Denham, Psychology

John Foster, English

James E. Gentle, Computational Statistics

Naomi L. Gerber, Health and Human Services

Alexander H. Levis, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Lance Liotta, Molecular and Microbiology

James Maddux, Psychology

Anthony Maiello, Music

Stephen Mastrofski, Administration of Justice

Margo Mastropieri, Education and Human Development

Paricia Miller, Music

James L. Olds, Computational Neuroscience

Raja Parasuraman, Psychology

James Pfiffner, Public Policy

Richard Rubenstein, Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Thomas Scruggs, Education and Human Development

Martin Sherwin, History and Art History/School of Public Policy

Jagadish Shukla, Climate Dynamics

Edgar Sibley, Information Systems and Systems Engineering/School of Public Policy

Valery N. Soyfer, Molecular and Microbiology

June Tangney, Psychology

Susan Tolchin, Public Policy

Rex Wade, History and Art History

Clarence J. Robinson Professors

Thanks to the vision and generosity of the late Clarence J. Robinson, Mason undergraduates have the opportunity to learn from faculty members recruited to Mason from senior positions at prestigious institutions. The mission of the Clarence J. Robinson Professors is to enrich the academic experiences of undergraduate students. At the same time, the professors continue their scholarly pursuits on broad and fundamental intellectual issues.

Shaul Bakhash, History

Spencer Crew, History and Art History

Paul D’Andrea, Theater and English

Robert Hazen, Earth Sciences

Hugh Heclo, Public Affairs

Carma Hinton, Visual Culture and Chinese Studies

Harold Morowitz, Biology and Natural Philosophy

John Paden, International Affairs and Public Policy

James Trefil, Physics

Write to at