Mason Students Receive Awards and Scholarships

Posted: June 11, 2008 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Sarah Lash, a first-year graduate student in the College of Health and Human Services, was recently named a recipient of the 2008 David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship.

Lash was one of only 10 winners nationwide to receive the $5,000 award, which is given in recognition of academic excellence for work performed while pursuing a career in health policy.

Lash is working toward a master’s degree in health systems management with a concentration in health policy. She is currently employed as a research analyst at the Lewin Group, a health and human services consulting firm in the Washington, D.C., area.

The objective of the scholarship program is to increase the number and quality of individuals trained in health care policy at the state and federal level by awarding deserving health policy students financial support to further their education. The scholarship is administered in collaboration with the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.

Communication major Whitney Rhodes was honored by UWIRE, a free membership organization for college student media, as one of the nation’s top 100 collegiate journalists.

Rhodes was selected from more than 500 nominations submitted by students and educators at 132 schools. A UWIRE panel evaluated each candidate based on demonstrated excellence in a field of collegiate journalism.

Rhodes was the first director of Connect Mason, an online convergence site that features content from various Mason student media. The site was launched in January 2008.

Two doctoral students in the College of Science were honored for their academic achievements at the BIO IT Coalition’s 7th Annual Conference held this spring in Washington, D.C.

The students were recognized for their work in fields that intersect bioscience and information technology and its relevance to the coalition’s goal to improve the future of health care. Each student received a $1,000 scholarship.

The honorees and their projects are:

Aristide Chikando, Department of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, for “A Computational Study of Excitation-Contraction Coupling: Mechanisms of Sarcoplasmic Reticulum Calcium Leak and the Role of Mitochondria in Myoplasmic Calcium Regulation”

Ganiraju Manyam, Department of Molecular and Microbiology, for “Global Patterns of Changes in the Gene Expression Associated with Genesis of Cancer”

The students were among five winners of the competition, which is in its second year.

Write to at