May Marks Award Season at Mason

Posted: May 2, 2008 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Catherine Ferraro

The month of May is awards season, and next week 40 university employees will be honored with the David W. Rossell Quill Award, the Margaret C. Howell Award, the Safety Recognition Award, the Outstanding Achievement Award, the Exceptional Support Award, the Team Excellence Award and the Presidential Citation Award.

The presentation ceremony for these awards will take place on Tuesday, May 6, at 9 a.m. in the Johnson Center’s Dewberry Hall. All are invited to attend and show their support for their colleagues.

The David W. Rossell Quill Award is granted to administrative and professional faculty at Mason for working on projects or initiatives outside the realm of normal work duties that advance the university’s mission. The recipient will have shared his or her expertise on projects that have contributed to the stature of the department and/or the entire university.

This award also recognizes that the recipient displayed leadership while involved in this work. The award amount is $500 from the central awards account. Up to $500 from department funds may be added to the initial award amount.

The recipient of the award is Elizabeth Brock, Fiscal Services.

The Margaret C. Howell Award is granted to employees with at least three years of continuous service at the university who have performed work that promotes respect, diversity and individual dignity throughout the university and the community. The recipient’s efforts will have had an impact on an individual or individuals, the university and/or the community it serves.

The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and $500 presented by Mason President Alan Merten.

The recipient of the award is Louise Murray, Registrar’s Office.

The Safety Recognition Award is granted to a person or group of employees who have made a significant contribution to improving health and safety on campus. An employee or group of employees may be nominated by a colleague, supervisor, customer or student.

The recipient of the award is Katie Hemphill, resident assistant at Potomac Heights.

The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented for achievements that result in significant benefit to the university, school, institute or department. These achievements improve processes, save time or money and/or improve customer service. The recipients will receive $500 each.

The recipients of the award are Sharon Bloomquist and Laura McCloskey, History and Art History; Louis Buffardi, Psychology; Michael Briggs, Technology Systems Division; Linda Fauteux, Mason Topics; Amanda Howells, School of Management; Joshua Hughes, Web Communications; Alan Jones, Facilities Management; LeRoy LaFleur, Kristen Myers, Sarah Patton and Victoria Shelton, University Libraries; Quyen Le and James Russell, Purchasing and Accounts Payable; Nicole Sealey, the Volgenau School of Information Technology and Engineering; Jeffrey Smith, School of Law; and Diane Wang, Office of the Provost.

The Exceptional Support Award is designed to recognize employees upon whom departments rely for the smooth running of daily departmental functions and operations. These employees consistently demonstrate exceptional customer service, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment and energy. Recipients of this award will receive $250.

The recipients of the award are Nina Joshi, Higher Education Program; Margaret Koback, Public and International Affairs; Gerson Majano, Student Centers; Brenda Mueller, College of Education and Human Development; Tracy Nayar, School of Public Policy; Debbie Penny, Technology Systems Division; Karla Posselt, University Operations; Elizabeth Quigley, Applied and Engineering Statistics; Kellie Scanlon, Counseling and Psychological Services; Cynthia Shupe, School of Management; Allan Weiss, College of Health and Human Services; and Cindy Zema, Office of University Counsel.

The Team Excellence Award is given to employees based on outstanding results due to group achievement. Recipients of the award will receive $500.

The recipients of the award are Carolina Figueroa, Kathy Zimmerman, Bruce Keen, Jan Macario and Zakir Alam, Office of Admissions; and Jennifer Flagel, Office of the Provost.

The Presidential Citation award is a noncompetitive award recognizing individuals who perform an exceptional deed that may or may not be related to their normal duties. The recipient must have rendered a service or performed a deed at either personal or potential sacrifice that was motivated by good citizenship or a sense of public responsibility.

The recipients of the award are Nancimarie Ranghelli and Timothy O’Neil, Freedom and Aquatic Fitness Center. Ranghelli and O’Neil both provided emergency aid to a 2-year-old boy who was choking and lost consciousness. They were able to dislodge the object through repeated blows to the back and the child began breathing again. The child was transported to Prince William Hospital and was later released.

Write to at