University Day Honors Employee Service

Posted: April 16, 2008 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

In celebration of George Mason’s full university status proclaimed by the Virginia General Assembly in 1972, the Mason community celebrates University Day every year. This year is the 36th anniversary of Mason’s formal separation from the University of Virginia.

Traditionally, this event is marked at Mason by an annual awards breakfast and recognition for employee services to the Commonwealth of Virginia.

This year’s celebration will be held on Thursday, April 17, and will honor many of Mason’s longest tenured employees.

The awards program will honor three employees for 40 years of service to Virginia: Martin Cohen, retired; Robert Cozzens, Chemistry and Biochemistry; and George Mushrush, Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Another six employees will be honored for 35 years of service: Mary Dzama, Graduate School of Education; Joel Foreman, English; Winifred Keaney, English; Randolph Lytton, History and Art History; Robert Pasnak, Psychology; and Philip Wiest, Economics.

Twenty-three employees will celebrate 30 years of service: Kathy Adcock, Technology Systems, Information Technology Unit (ITU); Norman Barnes, University Police; Rae Ellen Best, School of Law; Rita Carty, retired; Jack Censer, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Peter Ceperley, retired; Robert Clark, retired; Robert Ehrlich, Physics and Astronomy; Sheryl Friedley, Communication; Patricia Irvin, retired; Deborah Kaplan, English; Peter Klappert, English; James Lawrey, Environmental Science and Policy; Stuart Malawer, School of Public Policy; Tucker Maney, retired; Carol Mattusch, History and Art History; Joan McCall, University Police; Hung Nguyen, Public and International Affairs; Paulette Royt, Molecular and Microbiology; Joseph Scimecca, Sociology and Anthropology; Janice Sutera Wolfe, University Career Services; Albert Torzilli, Environmental Science and Policy; and Margaret Yocom, English.

Those celebrating 25 years of service are: George Breen, Technology Systems, ITU; Rosemarie Brenkus, College of Health and Human Services; James Byrne, School of Law; Karen Cohn, Sponsored Programs Administration; Chong Cole, Facilities Management; Maria Dworzecka, College of Science; John Foster, English; Clyde (Wally) Grotophorst, University Libraries, ITU; Wendy Holt, Intercollegiate Athletics; David Levy, Economics; Jack Levy, Graduate School of Education; Lay Lim, University Libraries, ITU; Jeanne Medford, Intercollegiate Athletics; Dimitrios Papaconstantopoulos, Computational and Data Sciences; Katherine Perry, University Libraries, ITU; Sherrie Rook, History and Art History; Glenda Weston-McCray, Facilities Management; and Suzanne Woodfine, New Century College.

Twenty-year, 15-year, 10-year and five-year employees will also be honored, along with Employee of the Month award recipients.

Write to at