Undergraduate-Faculty Apprenticeship and Writing Fellowship Winners Announced

Posted: December 4, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

Thirteen students have been selected for spring 2008 Undergraduate-Faculty Research Apprenticeships and three students have been selected for Writing Fellowships, Emil Thomas Chuck, interim coordinator of the program, announced.

In this program, students chosen through a competitive application process work closely throughout the semester with faculty members on a creative or scholarly project.

Apprentices selected have at least 60 credit hours of Mason course work toward a bachelor’s degree and a GPA of 3.00 or greater. Preference is given students who are ready to give presentations of their work to a scholarly audience.

Apprentices receive a stipend of $1,000, with up to $100 in reimbursable funds for related expenses, including registration to local conferences. Apprentices and past recipients are encouraged and expected to present their work in various conferences throughout the academic year in their discipline and for general audiences.

A diverse committee oversees the selection process and includes faculty members who have a successful record of recruiting and mentoring apprentices.

Chuck has started a blog to highlight Mason undergraduate students who engage in research.

“The intent for this blog is to allow any students, faculty and other parties to learn more about research at Mason,” Chuck says. “I hope to include any announcements that would encourage students to pursue scholarly activity on or off campus.”

This spring’s students, faculty mentors and tentative project topic titles are listed below.

  • Katheryn Ahner will work with Benedict Carton, associate professor, History and Art History, on “Writing Fellowship for History 300: Focus on Colonial African History.”
  • Wendy Baccus, a previous winner, will work with James Thompson, assistant professor, Psychology, on “The Influence of Visual Perception, Recognition and Physical Practice on Motor Learning.”
  • Joanna Berezny will work with Ken Elston, assistant professor, Theater, on “Practical Marketing for Live Theater.”
  • Jessica Dawn Billings will work with Mary Lechter, adjunct faculty, Theater, on “An Education in Action: A Critical Look at Performance Techniques Through Observation.”
  • Claire Suzanne Forman will work with Jo-Marie Burt, associate professor, Public and International Affairs on “The Trial of Alberto Fujimori: Human Rights Violations and the Quest for Accountability in Peru.”
  • Tisidra Jones will work with Karen Rosenblum, professor, Sociology, on “The Preservation of Social Identity through Music.”
  • Previous winner Geoffrey Lewis will work with Shannon Davis, assistant professor, Sociology and Anthropology, on “The Impact of Sexual Abuse on Adult Sexual Behavior.”
  • Previous winner Jenna Krall will work with Rebecca Goldin, associate professor, Mathematics, on “The Promotion of Responsible Use of Statistics through STATS.”
  • Kristin T. May will work with T. Mills Kelly, associate professor, History and Art History, on “Short publication on June 4, 1989, and the events in Poland, Iran and China.”
  • Olga Mozgova will work with Jane Flinn, associate professor, Psychology, on “Hippocampal Deficits Due to and the Consequences of Elevated Zinc Consumption.”
  • Tamar Najarian will work with Shannon Skousgaard, associate professor, Philosophy, on “Writing Fellowship for Philosophy 311: Philosophy and Law.”
  • Previous winner Elizabeth Nohelty will work with Ancha Baranova, associate professor, Molecular and Microbiology, on “Real-Time PCR Analysis of the Putative Tumor Suppressor Gene KCNRG in Human Hematopoietic Tumors and Cell Lines.”
  • Daniel Rollins Odom III will work with John “Fred” Saddler, adjunct faculty, History and Art History, on “The Invisible Other and Construction of the Homosexual Counterculture through Abstract Expressionism.”
  • Matthew Relph will work with Lisa Marie Rabin, associate professor, Modern and Classical Languages, on “Language Ideologies in the U.S. Settlement House Movement.”
  • Previous winner Afra Saeed will work with June Tangney, University Professor, Psychology, on “Writing Fellowship for Psychology 324: Personality Theory.”
  • Adrianne Urrego will work with Robert Smith, professor, Psychology, on “Does Chronic Nicotine Exposure Produce Long Lasting Alterations in the Dendritic Morphology of Pyramidal Cells from the Infralimbic Cortex?”

For more information, contact Chuck at echuck@gmu.edu.

Write to at