Celebration of Achievements Honors University Scholarship

Posted: November 7, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Dave Andrews

This afternoon, the Office of the Provost will host the sixth annual reception to honor the research, scholarly and creative accomplishments of the university’s faculty and students. The celebration will be held in the Center for the Arts lobby on the Fairfax Campus.

President Alan Merten, Provost Peter Stearns, and Vice President for Research and Economic Development Matt Kluger will relate some of the exciting research developments of the past year. Selections of books, awards, exhibit catalogs and posters representing both faculty and student achievements will be on display from 3:30 to 5 p.m.

Philip Auerswald
Philip Auerswald

The event will also feature the formal announcement of the winners of the Emerging Researcher, Scholar and Creator Awards: Philip Auerswald, Todd Kashdan and Karen Sauer. Mason initiated the award this year to recognize up-and-coming accomplished faculty members.

“Oftentimes, most of the attention is given to awards received outside the university. But the Emerging Researcher, Scholar and Creator Award gives special recognition within the university,” Kluger says. “As one of the many honors they will surely receive throughout their careers, this award recognizes these professors as stars-in-the-making.”

Todd Kashdan
Todd Kashdan

Auerswald is director of the Center for Science and Technology Policy and assistant professor in the School of Public Policy. His work focuses on the linked processes of technological and organizational change in the contexts of policy, economics and strategy.

Kashdan is assistant professor of psychology and director of the Laboratory for the Study of Social Anxiety, Character Strengths and Related Phenomena. He centers his work on understanding emotional, social, and motivational factors associated with various emotion disturbances.

Karen Sauer
Karen Sauer

Sauer is associate professor of physics and astronomy. Her primary research deals with experimental atomic and molecular physics, with an emphasis on magnetic resonance phenomena.

The winners qualified for the award, which comes with a $3,000 stipend, by being within 10 years of receiving their terminal degree and by demonstrating growing national and international recognition for achievements and scholarship within their field.

The selection committee was composed of seven University Professors who reviewed 20 nominations.

“Each of the nominations had such stellar reviews. The selection process wasn’t easy,” says Kluger, who served as committee chair. “We have so many well-published, artistic and talented faculty. Each nomination had an astounding level of productivity.”

A publication highlighting scholarly accomplishments from throughout the university will be distributed at the reception.

Write to at