Mason Recognizes Outstanding Employees

Posted: October 9, 2007 at 1:00 am, Last Updated: November 30, -0001 at 12:00 am

By Catherine Probst Ferraro

Twenty-three university employees will be honored this week with Outstanding Achievement Awards, Exceptional Support Awards, the David W. Rossell Quill Award and the Martha Reiner Quality Customer Service Award. In addition, the Staff Senate will present the Outstanding Supervisor Award.

The presentation ceremony for these awards will take place on Thursday, Oct. 11, at 10:30 a.m. in the Johnson Center’s Dewberry Hall. All are invited to attend and show their support for their colleagues.

The Outstanding Achievement Award is presented for achievements that result in significant benefit to the university, school, institute or department. These achievements improve processes, save time or money and/or improve customer service. The recipients will receive $500 each.

The recipients of the award are Lorenzo Atienza, Cash Office; Paul Done, School of Management; Matthew Lilius, Volgenau School of Information Technology and Engineering; Theresa Lucado, Office of Laboratory Safety; Robyn Madar, Human Resources and Payroll; Erin Ogilvie, Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution; Nancy Pickens, Facilities Planning; Greg Rahimzadeh, Facilities Construction; Sandra Winter, Database Application Services; and Li Zhou, Office of Budget and Planning.

The Exceptional Support Award is designed to recognize employees upon whom departments rely for the smooth running of daily departmental functions and operations. These employees consistently demonstrate exceptional customer service, initiative, enthusiasm, commitment and energy. Recipients of this award will receive $250.

Recipients of the award are Forrest George, Development Office; Carol Hoskins, School of Management; Phyllis Johnson and Jade Perez, Volgenau School of Information Technology and Engineering; Davi Mohammed, Print Services; JoAnn Stevens, Prince William Administration; Glenda Weston-McCray, Facilities Management; Debbie Williams, Office of the Provost; and Pat Williams, University Career Services.

The David W. Rossell Quill Award is granted to administrative and professional faculty at Mason for working on projects or initiatives outside the realm of normal work duties that advance the university’s mission. The recipient will have shared his or her expertise on projects that have contributed to the stature of the department and/or the entire university.

This award also recognizes that the recipient displayed leadership while involved in this work. The award amount is $500 from the central awards account. Up to $500 from department funds may be added to the initial award amount.

The recipient of the award is Martin Ford, College of Education and Human Development.

The Martha J. Reiner Quality Customer Service Award is presented to individuals who have contributed to the enhancement of quality customer service at Mason. The criteria for this award are exceptional initiatives in “going the extra mile” to provide service to internal and external customers with timely and appropriate follow-up, responsiveness to the needs of students, patrons or customers, and demonstrated improvement of customer service satisfaction. The recipient of this award will receive $500.

The recipient of the award is Steven Broaddus, Technology Support Services.

The Outstanding Supervisor Award is sponsored by the Staff Senate and recognizes supervisors who create a positive working environment, encourage professional growth of employees and provide a sense of vision for the department.

The recipients of the award are Patricia Donini and Lori Ann Roth, Human Resources and Payroll.

Write to at